A Journey to Vegan · Vegan in Boston

Vegan Rainbow Cake in a Jar

I made vegan rainbow cake in a jar last week. Not only did it look cool, but it tasted amazing!

IMG_9362.JPG

I know, I’m supposed to be off sugar, but it was one of my good friend’s birthday so I had to make an exception. Plus, I had PMS and the cure for that is sugar, right?

 

Here’s the recipe I used: http://speedbumpkitchen.com/rainbow-suprise-cake/

 

Now, the problem is this recipe is for making a layered rainbow cake and not for making rainbow cake in a jar so I had to modify it to make it work:

  1. I separated the cake filling into 6 separate bowls, half a cup of filling in each.

 

2. Then I mixed in a different food coloring in each. I used Wilton’s gel food coloring as it apparently is vegan!

IMG_9334.JPG

3. Then I added a tablespoon of each colored filling into each jar (these are adorable 8 ounce mason jars, bought here). I tilted the jar to make sure some of each of the fillings of different colors touched the edges of the jar. A tablespoon of liquid is not a lot but when it rises it will be! You might want to preheat the oven (350 degrees) when you are on the last color.
IMG_9336.JPG

4. I put the jars in a cupcake tin and baked for 30-35 minutes at 350 degrees.

IMG_9337.JPG

They came out looking like this, much expanded and with darker colors. Perhaps if I added less food coloring to the cake it would have come out lighter? I know that baking makes colors appear dull so it might be inevitable.

I froze them for a day, then made (half) the vegan buttercream frosting, put it on top of the cake and added some gold glitter!

IMG_9343.JPG

The actual bites of cake looked really cool, the colors more vibrant than they appear from just looking at the jars:

IMG_9348.JPGIMG_9347.JPG

 

Thoughts: Is it possible to make colors look more vibrant when they are baked? Also, the red and the orange were such similar colors, if I added less food coloring to the orange perhaps it would show up better? The blue had the same problem with the green and purple.

Were I to have cut off just before the cake expanded in the jar, the “rainbow” would look a lot cleaner…there would also be a lot more room for frosting. Personally, I thought it had the perfect amount of frosting and wouldn’t want to needlessly trow away cake.

In any case, I am very pleased with how it turned out.

Any experienced bakers have any tips?

 

 

Vegan Adventures and More is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

7 thoughts on “Vegan Rainbow Cake in a Jar

Leave a Reply

