diy · Uncategorized · Vegan Beauty

DIY: Sugar Scrub

I love sugar scrubs, but it drives me crazy when they start to dry in a jar and I have to awkwardly scrape it out with a spoon. I decided to make some with a cute mold so that I can use them with a little more ease.

To start with, I got equal parts granulated sugar, brown sugar and coconut oil. I used a mix of sugar, but you could just as easily use one kind of sugar with a 2:1 sugar to coconut ratio. You just wouldn’t get the confetti effect of these sugar scrubs, which you might prefer.

Then I added two of my favorite essential oils: lavender (good for soothing your skin and mind) and jasmineΒ (I just love the scent). I have no rules about how many drops to add, I just play it by nose.

I spooned the mixture into the dinosaur molds and placed it in the freezer for about 15 minutes (long enough for them to harden).

I popped out the mini dinosaur sugar scrubs, put them in a large plastic baggy and repeated the process until all the mixture was completely used. I like to keep the bag in the fridge so that they won’t melt and stick together (especially if in the summer).

Now, whenever I want a good sugar scrub I chose two little dinosaurs to take with me, warm them up a little in the stream and scrub up. Sugar scrubs are wonderful to moisturize and exfoliate skin, and after using these I find myself to feel both pleasantly clean and soft! I also happen to feel very whimsical as a result of using toy-shaped bath products.

Try it, and let me know what you think!

Tip: If you want to make sure your sugar scrubs are vegan, be sure to use organic or coconut sugar!

 

One thought on “DIY: Sugar Scrub

Leave a Reply

